Gauge Wars

Gauge Wars

Gauge Wars

I was aiming for this swatch (or one third of a sleeve as you might alternatively call it) to contain 22 stitches and 26 rows to 4″.  Unfortunately, it contains 24 stitches and 36 rows.  Time for a rethink.

This is my standby JC Rennie Supersoft Lambswool coned wool 4-ply held double and this swatch is a bit on the tight side, yet I really like the fabric which is satisfyingly sturdy.  In fact, it is getting on for being ideal to knit a cute little jacket by Kim Hargreaves called Delphine.  Unfortunately, that is not what I’m trying to knit at the given moment; I’m trying to knit an an edgy, asymmetric cardigan by Norah Gaughan called Laccaria.

This wool is a lovely colour, isn’t it, even photographed in electric light?  I have no doubt that it would knit happily at 22 stitches if I moved to larger, and probably bamboo instead of metal, needles.  I think we can forget the row gauge – I don’t believe anyone ever manages to get row gauge!!  My life would be so simple if only this was the wool with which I wanted to knit the edgy, asymmetric NG cardie.  Have you guessed yet that it’s not?  In fact, I am secretly relieved that I didn’t “get gauge” first time with it.  I’m hankering for grey wool…

There, I wrote that and it all suddenly became clear.  I am hankering for the Manos del Uruguay Silk Blend yarn in a grey colourway which I saw in Norfolk Yarn a couple of weeks ago.  I loved it then, and I love it still.  I wasn’t totally aware it was lurking in the recesses of my mind waiting to leap out.  Funny old things, minds.

That’s sorted then.  Guess who is going to be visiting Norfolk Yarn on this, the last day of their week off work?

By the way, do you like my gauge measure in the photo?  I’ve been looking for one for ages and found it on a trip to London this week.  Oh, and I have other pretties to show you:  I have my first ever purchases of  Madelinetosh and Malabrigo; I have my scarf front cardigan to model and display.

You’ll be coming back for these, won’t you?

 

3 thoughts on “Gauge Wars

  1. If you loved the yarn two weeks ago and you still love it today ,, it must be perfect for your project 🙂

Leave a Reply

