Who is that glamorous model?

Someone's happy!

Oh, dear, only me!

Thought it would be nice to show a modelled shot of the new Slope Rib Cardi.  As you can see, I’m very pleased with it.  Fits nicely and I’m very happy with the whole project.

Here you can see the ribbing details:

Ribs this way, ribs that way, ribs every which way

I think the slightly mottled effect of the yarn makes the rib patterns more muted in this version than they were in the previous version, but I like it.

Today I have been looking at the “look-book” for the new patterns which Jared Flood of Brooklyn Tweed has made available.  These are patterns by a variety of independent knitwear designers using his all-American Shelter wool.  If you don’t know of Jared, you can find him by typing Brooklyn Tweed into any reputable web browser.  Or failing that, Internet Explorer (hah!!  little Mac user joke there!!).  Anyway, moving on.  Like many of the younger knitwear designers, Jared is exploring different ways of getting designs out to the knitting public and the way he is doing it with this particular pattern ‘book’ is by having a .pdf “look-book” for us to browse through, then the patterns can be bought individually as downloads from his website, or from Ravelry.  I like this idea (with one caveat which I’ll come to in a minute), although there have already been some negative comments and it’s only been available for about 24 hours!

What I particularly like about this format is tied up with my usual experience with pattern books, magazines etc.  If I buy a pattern book, it’s often because I like the look of it.  The scene-setting, yarns, colours, general ethos are inspirational to me.  However, I might only like one or two of the patterns themselves, and possibly knit even fewer.  Which I don’t mind because inspiration is a great thing of itself.  However, with this format I can imbue the ‘feel’ of the collection but only pay for the patterns that I think I will actually want to make.

The caveat I mentioned is that I’m not entirely convinced that it is right to limit things only to people who have access to the internet.  But then I am not sure how you could distribute such an independent publication widely enough to reach people in any other way.  Still, it does disturb me a little how very reliant we are becoming on our electronic devices.

So, the patterns.  Actually, there is only one that I think I will almost certainly buy to make – the Perry cardigan by Michele Wang.  This is a long-line cardigan with lace panel details at the hem, very simple, very Brooklyn Tweed.  However, there are two other patterns which I like elements of enough to think I would buy the pattern just in order to be able to use the elements in something slightly more to my liking.  The first is the Sullivan Cardigan by Whitney Gregg-Harrison.  I actually really like the cardigan as it is modelled, but I see that it is knitted ‘in the round’ and I would absolutely definitely not go for that construction method.  However, incorporating the chunky eyelet pattern from that into a more standard cardigan knit in pieces could definitely work for me.  And then there is the Levenwick Cardigan by Gudren Johnston.  The element I like from this is the wavy “old shale” lace edging.  What I hate is that it is knitted in one piece, top-down – my least favourite method of constructing anything.  Again, I could see myself incorporating this edging onto something with a much more traditional construction.  In the Look-Book this is knitted up in an unfortunate shade of wool that I’m going to describe as Mustard.  I’m saying mustard, but I’m thinking vomit – fairly sure Jared won’t have named it that, though!!  Oh, no, apparently it’s called Hayloft.

The rest of the designs are pleasant, but not my cup of tea, being accessories, men’s garments, or simply not quite my style.  One, though, I will mention in a negative way, although I don’t intend any unkindness.  It is a sleeveless pullover called Cyklon and is designed by Alison Brookbanks.  It is one of those fashion-forward pieces which challenge the ingrained perceptions of what a knitted garment should be and how it should fit.  In this specific case, it is knit on the skew somehow, creating diagonal folds of fabric.  I’m sure it is not, but it just looks uncomfortable.  Like when you put on a top and it’s somehow twisted round and you just can’t get comfortable in it.  Like (and, oh, I’m sorry I’m saying this), but like how you feel when you see Norman Wisdom.  Go on, I dare you – go and look at it and try not to think “Mr Grimsdale”!!

And I know what will happen.  Sometime down the line I’ll be sitting here writing merrily away about how I’ve just finished knitting that very top and how it’s the epitome of cool.  All I need is enough people to say how ridiculous and horrid it is, and I’ll be knitting it up in a trice!  Just to prove them wrong, you understand!!

Anyway, I hope I’ve piqued your interest and that you will perhaps download the look-book to take a look yourself.  Maybe you’ll find something you like enough to buy a pattern.  Or two, or three.

2 thoughts on “Who is that glamorous model?

  1. Oh, I agree! That Cyklon by Alison Brookbanks looks sooooo uncomfortable and bulky! Also, it’s a complete knock off from a Japanese pattern book.

Leave a Reply

