Dubious reasons for buying wool

Got buttons? Need wool!

Okay, this counts as a very dubious purchase.  A little while ago I looked through my button tin and noticed how many perfectly usable sets of brand new buttons I had in there.  Mainly in shades of green.  I am, you see, guilty of buying buttons that don’t quite work in the context of whichever project I bought them for, so into the button tin they go.  Rather than leaving them to languish forever, I have decided to buy wool that they will work with to produce some new cardigans.  My first purchase is a shade called Lush (I trust lush like grass, not like a drunkard) and actually matches these buttons better than the photo suggests.  As the buttons are quite big, this will be a project where the 4-ply wool is held double to give a fabric of heavy DK/Worstead weight.

In order to continue with my button de-stashing, I also ordered the full shade card for this range of wool which will enable me to match button and wool colours much better.   Anyone else struggle with trying to determine shades well enough on-screen?

Perhaps it would be nice to tell a little story about where I store my buttons, which is in a re-purposed Farrah’s Harrogate Toffee tin (400g size).  Whilst I have (almost) always lived in East Anglia, my mum came from Yorkshire and we often headed up to York to stay with my grandparents when I was a little girl.  Farrah’s Harrogate toffee was one of those brands much more prevalent in that area in the 1960s and rarely seen ‘down south’.  Of course now all brands are national or global and you can buy everything anywhere, which in a way slightly devalues it all.  But I digress.  My button tin, whilst being a more recent purchase (only about 10 years old!!) is valued because it reminds me of my childhood.  The tin contains odd buttons, spare buttons, and of course several full sets of buttons, awaiting the time they either get used, or my grandson gets old enough to be allowed to empty them out and play with them.

If you’ve never tried Farrah’s Harrogate Toffee, by the way, you should – it is delicious.

In knitting news, I have finished knitting the second sleeve of the Slope Rib Cardigan but won’t be attaching it to the rest of the cardi and putting it through the wash until the weekend.  I feel I want daylight to do the fiddly bits.  I started my new job this week and between learning new tasks and routines, and trying to work out the optimum cycle route I’m not up to too much complexity in the evenings.  I will probably work on my Palms socks the next couple of evenings.  Unless I just carry on reading my Enid Blyton book and ignore the knits!!  I am currently engrossed in “Five Go Adventuring Again”.  It is my intention to read my way through the series – this is only Book 2 – which I read avidly as a youngster.  I am interspersing my more serious, grown-up reading, with the occasional jaunt into the adventures of Julian, Dick, George, Anne and Timmy the dog.  Wouldn’t it be fun to have five children and give them those names?  Of course, probably resisting the temptation to add ‘the dog’ habitually to the end of Timothy’s name.

It’s a little late to be starting anything new, and a little early to be heading to bed.  Perhaps there is just time to have a quick scan of the blogs I read before I retire.

Leave a Reply

